Energy – electricity and heating from regenerative sources

Energy – electricity and heating from regenerative sources

We view the subject of energy entirely in terms of the quest for regenerative sources. Our technologies allow us to exploit renewable energy carriers.
The thermal treatment of waste has proved to be an ecologically worthwhile solution for recovering energy. From the heat created by incineration, we produce district heating for household heating and hot water. Moreover, we produce hot water for steam to drive the turbines.

An excellent example of thermal waste recycling is the MSZ 3 plant, which is the largest of three waste incineration plants in the city of Moscow.

Each year, the Russian capital accumulates around 3.5 million tons of solid domestic waste, including bulky waste. About 800,000 tons are burnt in the city’s waste incineration plants, almost half of that in the MSZ 3 plant constructed by our parent company, EVN.

Roughly 2.7 million tons of Moscow’s domestic waste is still stored in landfill sites, including products which contain highly toxic materials such as fluorine, chlorine, cadmium or mercury. The depletion and decomposition processes, which can take as long as 300 years, cause pollution of the air and of drinking water.

This means that these waste disposal sites are a long-term hazard for the environment. They destroy ecologically valuable countryside and represent an incalculable risk for future generations.

 

Ecological recycling carried out to the most up-to-date technical standards

With a capacity of 360,000 tons per year, the MSZ 3 plant became operative after a construction period of only two years. Since then it has made an important contribution to the ecological treatment of the large amount of domestic waste produced in Moscow.

The treatment of the delivered waste is ecologically sound, and recycling is carried out to the most up-to-date technical standards. The non-degradable items of waste are extracted in a multi-phase flue-gas purification plant. The remaining organic pollutants are destroyed at temperatures of over 1,000 °C.

The energy harnessed in the waste is fed into a power / heat cogeneration plant, which is attached to the Moscow heat network and produces electricity and district heat for 48,000 Moscow households.

Conceived as a BOOT model, the MSZ 3 plant will be operated by EVN until 2020, after which it will transition to ownership by the city of Moscow.

Energie – Strom und Wärme aus regenerierbaren Quellen

Energie – Strom und Wärme aus regenerierbaren Quellen

Das Thema Energie steht bei uns ganz im Zeichen der Suche nach regenerierbaren Quellen. Unsere Technologien erlauben es, erneuerbare Energieträger zu erschließen.
Die thermische Verwertung von Abfällen hat sich als ökologisch sinnvolle Lösung zur Energiegewinnung erwiesen. Aus der Wärme, die bei der Verbrennung entsteht, gewinnen wir Fernwärme für den Betrieb von Heizungen und für die Aufbereitung von Warmwasser. Darüber hinaus erzeugen wir Heißwasser, dessen Dampf dem Antrieb von Turbinen dient.

Ein Beispiel für die aus Umweltsicht vorbildliche thermische Abfallverwertung ist die Anlage EVN MSZ 3, die größte von drei Müllverbrennungsanlagen der Stadt Moskau.

In der russischen Millionenmetropole fallen jährlich rund 3,5 Millionen Tonnen feste Haushaltsabfälle einschließlich Sperrmüll an. Rund 800.000 Tonnen werden in den Müllverbrennungsanlagen der Stadt verbrannt, nahezu die Hälfte davon in der von unserer Muttergesellschaft EVN errichteten Anlage MSZ 3.

Etwa 2,7 Millionen Tonnen der Moskauer Haushaltsabfälle werden immer noch auf Deponien gelagert, darunter Produkte, die hochgiftige Stoffe wie beispielsweise Fluor, Chlor, Cadmium oder Quecksilber enthalten. Während der Abbau- und Zersetzungsprozesse, die bis zu 300 Jahre andauern können, kommt es zur Verschmutzung von Luft und Trinkwasser. Daher stellen diese Mülldeponien eine dauerhafte Gefahr für die Umwelt dar. Sie zerstören ökologisch wertvolle Landschaft und werden für zukünftige Generationen zu einem unkalkulierbaren Risiko.

 

Ökologische Verwertung nach modernstem technischem Standard

Die Anlage MSZ 3 mit einer Kapazität von 360.000 Tonnen pro Jahr konnte nach einer Bauzeit von lediglich zwei Jahren in Betrieb gehen. Seither leistet sie einen wichtigen Beitrag zur ökologischen Behandlung der großen, in Moskau anfallenden Mengen an Haushaltsmüll.

Die angelieferten Abfälle werden ökologisch einwandfrei behandelt; die Verwertung des Mülls erfolgt nach modernstem technischem Standard. Die nicht zerstörbaren Anteile im Müll werden in einer mehrstufigen Rauchgasreinigungsanlage extrahiert. Die verbleibenden organischen Schadstoffe werden bei Temperaturen von mehr als 1.000 °C zerstört.

Die im Müll enthaltene Energie wird in eine Kraft-Wärme-Kopplungsanlage eingespeist, die an das Moskauer Wärmenetz angeschlossen ist und Strom und Fernwärme für 48.000 Moskauer Haushalte erzeugt.

Als BOOT-Modell konzipiert, wird die Anlage MSZ 3 bis zum Jahr 2020 von der EVN betrieben. Anschließend geht sie in das Eigentum der Stadt Moskau über.